Westport United

Founded 1911

Co. Mayo


Download our mobile app to hear more about Westport United.

See More

Westport United's Kevin Kitterick was named the Mayo Association Football League Young Footballer of the Year at the Annuual Presentation Dinner in the Castlecourt Hotel recently.

On a night when our neighbours and rivals, Castlebar Celtic swept the board, the Louisburgh Lion was as surprised as anyone else to have won the award. Kitterick had a great season, displaying some dazzling skills, great energy and scored some spectacular goals.

Gary Cunningham's contribution to football didn't go unnoticed as he was awarded a Special Merit Award to recognise his three caps for the Republic of Ireland Amateurs in the UEFA Regions Cup in Spain last June. Cunningham played three games for his country and represented his club and family with distinction.

Westport United did win some individual awards with the first team winning Team of the Month for July and the club also picked up the latest trophy to celebrate the FAI Club Mark One Star Award.

In the Westaro Masters League Division One, Joe Lawless, James Gill, Mark MacNally and David Hoban all got on Team of the Year with MacNally getting the Division Footballer of the Year. Also Jesper Frisch received a Footballer of the Month award.

It was a great year for our U.21 team as Noah Massey, Cillian White, Dylan O'Malley, Cian Halpin and Kevin Kitterick were all named on the TF Hotel Royal Theatre Team of the Year.

The Castlecourt Hotel Premier Division saw Ted Horan making the Team of the Year and also won the division's Golden Boot.

Finally, the Elvery Sports Super League saw Kevin Kitterick and Darren Browne named the Team of The Year, while Cillian McGlade received a Footballer of the Month award.

Many congratulations to all our award winners and each and everyone are worthy and deserving recipients.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play